An Interview with Irene Curran

thumbnail_Olann image 10

How did you begin your interest in design?

My designs are all vintage inspired, my love of vintage goes back to childhood.

What’s your practice like? Do you work from a studio or are you based at home?

I work from home, which is great as I have a three year old toddler who loves ribbons and feathers almost as much as I do

What artists and designers have inspired you over time?

I’m very inspired by historic milliners, such asCaroline Reboux who invented the cloche hat. I also adore the sophistication of vintage coco Chanel.

Tell us about the last collection you created and the inspiration behind it?

My recent work is mostly inspired by the 1930s with lots of turbans and heavy embellishments.

Tell us about your process and how you take an idea and transform it into a finished piece?

I work in a very free flowing and organic way, letting the material shine as much as possible.

thumbnail_Olann Image 2

What materials are you most drawn to working with?

I love natural materials like wool felt and silks.

What connections do you have to other designers and how do you feel about collaboration?

 

I love working with other designers, most frequently I work with kinsale based Charlotte and Jane and Limerick based Caroline Mitchell. I love coming up with a hat to finish an outfit

If you could only choose one piece of design, what would it be?

Hans J. Wegner wishbone chair.

 

You can find more of Irene’s work on her website, facebook or instagram.

Irene Curran is one of the featured designers in the Galway Designers S/S Fashion Showcase ’18

First Show starts @ 5.30pm
Doors open 5pm
Interval @ 6.15pm – TheDirty Circus Performance
Second Show @ 6.45pm

There will be a Pop-Up Prosecco Bar provided for your refreshment

After the show, you are invited to join the ‘Afterparty’ for some cocktails above in the Tribeton Bar.

Tickets are €12 and can be purchased from Tribeton or from the Galway Designers Studio House, located in the Cornstore Mall.

They can also be purchased on the door for €15
Limited standing tickets available on the door for €7

Tickets get you a seat with goodie bag and 20% discount off any Tribeton food purchases

Limited Tickets Available!

Leave a comment