Designer Profiles: RE ason | A/W’17 Showcase

Here at the Galway Designer’s Network, we would like you all to get to know our designers a little better. This is the fourth installment in a series of blog posts relating to the designers who will be taking part in the upcoming A/W’17 Showcase in Tribeton on September 9th. Keep an eye out on the blog and on our social media channels over the next few weeks and get to know our designers before the Big Day.

Maeve Ayo – RE ason

DSC_0408_DxO
Aay Kay Photography

What sparked your interest with fashion?

I think as a child I loved to make things, anything, and I loved colours. I made clothes from my early teens out of anything I could find.

_tco4206_36570376536_o-iloveimg-converted.jpg
Timothée Cognard Photography

Are you self taught or did you study fashion design? 

I thought I could get away with teaching myself but my technical inability frustrated me and I ran out of steam. I did a short sewing machinist course, worked in a number of clothing factories and eventually met a wonderful dressmaker who knew so much about design and quality and materials. It was with her I learned a lot about making and finishing. I also studied fine art which somehow added to my view of things!

_tco4210_35807414613_o-iloveimg-converted.jpg

Timothée Cognard Photography

What made you take your talent more seriously and want make a career out of it? 

Initially I gave up working in fashion, but after returning to college where I studied art I developed a love of photography. I suppose it was just another form of my love of the visual and colour. I was busy for a number of years with small children and looking for a way to work from home when I realised clothing is a more practical form of creating than photography or art.

_tco4235_35717644044_o-iloveimg-converted
Timothée Cognard Photography

What is your aesthetic? 

I love colour, layers and transparencies, simple shapes and mixing unusual fabrics or unexpected colours.

20157341_879832808848796_7256305843548148981_o
Maeve Ayo Photography

What are you fascinated by at the moment and how does it feed into your work? 

I am fascinated by nature.  I am inspired by the outdoors and the cycles of nature, the colours and details of plants and flowers and water, even the atmosphere. I still take a lot of photos and I use them in my fabrics directly by printing them.

20157151_879832638848813_3567327291064244033_o
Maeve Ayo Photography

How has your work evolved since you began your own label? 

I would think I am getting bolder and less precious with my ideas.

MADsm0871.jpg
Maeve Ayo Photography

What is the biggest lesson that you have learned since you started your company? 

Marketing is such a big deal in trying to sell anything and its important to have good support especially among other creative people.

20247528_1882859835312021_6241866320444995913_o
Maeve Ayo Photography

Describe your creative process. 

I tend to have too many ideas and its best for me to materialise as much as I can and usually I will see a common thread develop and this will be my focus.  I usually find, buy or print fabric and don’t know what to do with it and it sits around until one day I know exactly where it fits.

il_570xN.858366285_c1gr
Maeve Ayo Photography

What obstacles do you find when trying to work?

Negative emotions, tiredness and if I don’t walk away from something that is not working.

il_570xN.1027885518_ecg3
Maeve Ayo Photography

What questions do you ask yourself before you begin any design project?

How will I pull all the different ideas I have into a coherent set of designs.

MAD_0171a.jpg
Maeve Ayo Photogprahy

How do you stay organised when trying to design and create while balancing family or other work related responsibilities? 

I haven’t really sorted this out yet. I tend to work in time blocks. With focus I can work quite fast so its about setting aside a week or two and immersing myself. I have had to learn to be more efficient in everything  I do.

etsy2sml
Maeve Ayo Photography

How do you feel about the current state if the fashion industry? 

I would love to see more localised creators and markets with a public understanding of the value and worth of handmade and locally inspired garments.

etsy - 1sml)
Maeve Ayo Photography

Where do you see your brand expanding to? 

I would like establish a steady market within Ireland and also to develop a successful online market.

20748110_1894273200837351_1490218717617563812_o
Maeve Ayo Photography

What advice would you give to young designers?

Always keep pushing your self for better work and better finish and listen to criticism for you own growth.. Not easy. Try to find the balance between listening to the market but really developing your individual aesthetic and style.

20729125_892584387573638_1110187435530649959_o
Maeve Ayo Photography

***

Images 2-4|Rós Model Management|The Face Hairdressing|Colette Manning Lacey MUA

Images 5-8,13-14|Styling, Hair & MUA by Katherina at Candy Hair & Vintage, Galway

All other imagery via Maeve Ayo

Featured Photography|Aay Kay|Timothée Cognard|Maeve Ayo

20689933_1961273224157573_7871427642380058474_o

Maeve will be taking part in the GDN A/W Showcase on September 9th in Tribeton. There will be 3 individual showcases throughout the day:

Jewellery Design at 2pm

Millinery at 4pm

Clothing Design at 6pm.

Tickets for individual shows are priced at €15, or grab yourself a bundle ticket for €35 and spend the day in Tribeton, where you can enjoy 20% off all food all day or shop the Pop Up Market featuring all of the designers collections.  Your ticket will entitle you to a glass of prosecco, a goodie bag specific to the show and a front row seat.  If you want to get your hands on a ticket, go online via eventbrite.ie or head directly to Tribeton. There will also be a limited amount of standing tickets available for each show, but you must register your interest via eventbrite.ie prior to September 9th.

***

The Galway Designers Network  is a group of talented designers looking to create exciting clothing and accessories to ensure you can support your local fashion industry and keep up to date with the latest fashion looks and we are looking to make our own mark in the fashion retail sector. Our current project the Galway Designers Studio House has been established by Ann Petrov of Cozy Handmade Designs and Gayle Poppers of Kizmet Clothing but they need your help to make their dream a reality. Follow the Galway Designers Studio House Facebook Page  to read all about the project and how you can take part.

The Galway Designers Network are always looking for new and exciting designers or anyone who feels they would love to be involved. Get in touch by commenting below, via Facebook @galwaydesignersnetwork, via Instagram @galway_designersnetwork or email galwayfashionshowcase@gmail.com.

 

Leave a Reply

